GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Millicent's Profile
Millicent's family
Millicent
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
40
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48250 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on building an iron roofed house.I also bought a cow at 18,000 KES,a set of chairs and paid school fees for my children.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of plastering my house.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer is that I have chairs where I can sit on in my house.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on buying a cow,bed,chairs,mattress,water tank.I also paid school fees for my son
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a cow which is an investment to me.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on buying a chair.I also bought a goat and food for my family.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on building a toilet.I also want to plaster my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
Planning to buy a few household requirements that I don't have like beddings chairs and utensils Planning to also buy a cow for milking in the future as a source of income
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is my family and my homestead
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship has been getting a source of income depending on casual work with an aim of feeding a family is a big challenge
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the are my mornings when I head to the market center and make a sell from my sugar cane through that am sure of a meal