chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > David's Profile
David's family
David
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
carpentry
faceAge:
39
homeHousehold Size:
1
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48250 KES ($476 USD)
access_time almost 2 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent the whole of my second transfer on paying dowry for my life.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of adding capital to my carpentry business.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because I have my wife after paying her dowry.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($492 USD)
access_time 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on building an iron roofed house.I also added capital to my carpentry business and paid hospital bill to my wife who delivered.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a good iron roofed house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to buy a mattress. I also spent the remaining amount to expand my carpentry shop.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a spacious iron roofed house. I'm also planning to invest the remaining amount in my carpentry business.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 2 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to build a new house because this one leaks a lot whenever it rains since the roofing is worn out. I would also like to buy some workshop equipment since I make furnitures and I can only make money when I have sufficient equipments.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
Looking back,I would say being a carpenter has been my proudest achievement because it has been my main source of income.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I would say lack of enough workshop equipments has been my biggest hardship ever since I opened a furniture workshop since I've not been able to raise enough money to buy them.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I'm happiest in the morning when cultivating my farm because it keeps me busy.