chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Alice's Profile
Alice's family
Alice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
27
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Alice's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 20 iron sheets at 12,000 KES, four still windows at 12,000 KES, one still door at 7,000 KES, roofing poles at 6,000 KES, wall poles at 5,400 KES, paid 4,500 KES, school uniforms for my three children then used the rest of the money on food for the house,
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now in a spacious house that accommodates me well with my family, unlike the previous house that was so squeezed being that I have many children.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 7,000KES on buying 10 pieces of ironsheet and nails as part of materials for building an iron roofed house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy more ironsheet, timber and nails, and build an iron roofed house. I also plan to revive my food kiosk which I used to run but collapsed.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to build a new house because I have six children and my house is very small. I also plan to set up an hotel business because I have been employed in someone's hotel and I know it's a good business that can help me support my family. I will use the remaining amount on school fee for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have been able to feed my family through hard work being that I am the only breadwinner.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in my life is lack of sufficient resources to feed, educate, clothe and meet other financial needs of my family being that I earn only kes 3,000 in a month from my job.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when we are back home. My children are a source of joy to me especially when they are telling me stories of school.