chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Jenipher's Profile
Jenipher's family
Jenipher
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
42
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Jenipher's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 20000 KES of the first lumpsum in paying school fee, 22000 KES in buying a cow and spent the rest in opening a business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The cow we bought is soon giving birth thus we'll be getting milk. Out of the business I opened we get income that has been sustaining us.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 7000 KES of the token payment on maize and beans farming, 2000 KES on secondary school fees and the remaining amount on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I will buy a sofa set, a cupboard and pay the school fees for my son with rest of my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to pay school fees and to invest in business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of educating my children. The eldest is in university and several others in high school. It's my pride to see them getting an education because I never had a chance to.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is the burden of school fees. Especially for the ones in high school and college.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I do house chores and clean the compound.