GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Joshua's Profile
Joshua's family
Joshua
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
39
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Joshua's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to buy materials and built a new house (48700)
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I used to live in a grass-thatched house but now i have an iron sheet roofed house, thank you GD for facilitating this.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought ironsheet and nails for building an iron roofed house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy more ironsheet, timber, nails and cement and build an iron roofed house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to build a new house because my current house is a small grass thatched roofed house which is licks during rainy season and is too small for my family. I am planning to use the remaining on food and school fee.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I was able to raise my daughter after her mother's death at only seven months. She has now attained nine years and that makes me very proud as a man.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I am facing in life is poverty. I lack proper source of income to meet my family's needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is at noon when I am at work interacting with colleagues.