chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Morrine's Profile
Morrine's family
Morrine
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
42
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Morrine's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 39000 KES in plastering my house, 4000 KES in buying bedding and used the rest to buy food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am happy and at peace because I managed to do most of the things I didn't expect I would achieve in my life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I sunk a latrine made of bricks using 6500 KES of the token payment and spent the remaining 3500 KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I have planned to enroll my daughter in a community and health work course in a college and construct an iron-roofed house using this upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to plaster my house so as to prevent insects and other dangerous animals like snakes from residing inside the cracks on the mud walls. I also plan to use part of my transfer on my daughter's college education.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I am a hard working woman who does not depend entirely on her husband. Through my small savings in my merry go round group, I have built my kitchen and acquired livestock .
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in my life is lack of sufficient finances to feed, clothe, and educate my children because I have no proper source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon when I am at the market selling my products and interacting with different people. Being with people make me forget my problems.