chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Regina's Profile
Regina's family
Regina
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
43
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Regina's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought iron sheets 18000 KES, steel door 6000 KES, timber, nails and poles 10000 KES,building soil 6000 KES, labor costs 3000 KES, school fees 4000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have build a bigger and better house and moved from a small poor conditioned house I used to live in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l bought mattress worth 3500 kshs, l bought solar at a cost of 2000 kshs, l also 2500 kshs to pay school fees and the remaining balance l use for buying a sack of maize worth 2000 kshs.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l am planning to build a more spacious for my family.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on renovating my house and expanding it by buying thirty iron sheets,I will spend part of the transfer on paying school fees for my child who is in secondary school and I will also buy a water tank that I can use in harvesting water when it rains. The remaining amount I will spend on buying five goats that I can rear and sell whenever I have issues in getting cash.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that I have been able to raise my kids and take them to school using cash that I get from the sale of my farm produce and this I have done so even after the disappearance of their dad.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is in terms of raising school fees for my child as getting money has not been easy as my farm income is not stable.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go out in the morning to graze my dairy cow. This makes me happy as in the evening I am able to milk it and get some milk for my family.