<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Hellen's Profile
Hellen's family
Hellen
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
54
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Hellen's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 30 iron sheets for 33,000 KES, sand for 9,500 KES and a steel door for 7,000 KES as part of materials to construct my house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I bought a calf with the first transfer and it is doing well and it will give milk to sell and also consumption and I have bought some materials to construct my house that will enable me to move to a bigger and much better house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a heifer at 9,500 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to construct a house as the one am living in is old and dilapidated with a leaking roof and buy some goats and poultry.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to build a new house because my house is in a bad condition. Secondly I would wish to buy sheeps which can help us incase of emergency. Finally l would like to use part the rest of the transfer to do poultry farming.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that we have struggled to buy a piece of land where we are doing farming.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of money to pay school fees for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the morning when all my family members are in good health.