<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Amos's Profile
Amos's family
Amos
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
47
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Amos's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on buying a cow for 15,000 KES, building a house for 30,000KES, and food for my family for 5,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I am a proud owner of a lovely new house, and soon my cow will deliver so I can also become a livestock farmer in future.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent the whole amount to pay collage fees for my son in collage.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l am planning to build a spacious house
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to build a new house because the house we are staying in for my late wife so l would wish to build my new wife her own house. Finally l would like to buy cows for gazing so that I can use them to pay school fees for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievements are that l have struggled to buy iron sheets and nails ready for building a house. Secondly l have also bought a cow for milking.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of money to pay school fees for my son in technical school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening after getting some construction jobs and earning money knowing that my family will be able to feed well.