GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Philip's Profile
Philip's family
Philip
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
32
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Philip's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($495 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought building materials (a steel door and windows) at 14,000 KES. I bought a barbed wire and poles at 20,000 KES for fencing my compound to curb hippopotamus invasions as I live in close proximity to the lake. I paid my children's 2,000 KES school fees. I spent the remaining 7,000 KES on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I've already acquired fencing materials which I never imagined I would ever achieve. Hopefully my home will be safer from stray wild animals.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to buy 8 pieces of iron sheets which I'll use to build a new house immediately I receive the first lumpsum. I also bought family foodstuffs with the remaining amount.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a new iron roofed house because my current house is small in size. I'm also planning to fence my home with a barbed wire because I live a long the lake and always get disturbed by grazing hippos.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on expanding my fishing business by buying more nets for fishing, I will renovate my house and make it to be more raised so that I am not affected by flood water from the lake, I will also spend part of the transfer on paying for dowry as I haven't paid dowry yet and the remaining amount I will buy a sheep and a goat for milk and meat.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I was able to build my own home with money I got from my fishing business.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that my source of income is inadequate because I don't have enough tools that I can use in my fishing business and this includes fishing gears like nets.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I wake up in the morning and I see my family healthy and ready to face the day.