GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Joice's Profile
Joice's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I bought a cow for 20000 KES, furniture 12500 KES, bought my children clothes for 3000 KES, shoes 2500 KES, radio 2500 KES, paid debt of 4000 KES
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have goal of educating my child who will be in secondary school next year.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I now live in a good house and feed my family comfortably without straining.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend the transfer to build a spacious house so l bought 18 iron-sheets at 11700 kshs, nails at 3600 kshs, poles at 6000 kshs, timber 6320 kshs, clay soil 10000 kshs, l spend 4500 kshs to pay for labor and l also use 4000 kshs for transport.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has really change because l have a very spacious and comfortable house that accommodate me with the whole of my family
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 7,000 KES to buy iron sheets which I'll use to build a new house. I also spent the rest of the transfer on other household items.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a new iron roofed house because my current house is old and leaking. I'm also planning to cement the floor of the house which I'll build.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to build a new bigger house, pay school fees, the rest we will use to buy cattle and a ploughing machine for farming
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is being able to take care of, sustain and educate my children through farming. I sell the produce I have harvested to get cash. I feel proud because all this is through hardwork and investing on things like fertilizer and seeds.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face now is low income. I struggle to make ends meet but it's still not enough.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I do household chores like fetching water, cleaning the compound, preparing the kids for school and going to the farm.