GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Beatrice's Profile
Beatrice's family
Casual labour
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Beatrice's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
we bought bed and mattress which cost us Ksh 8,000 and water tank 2,500
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Biggest difference is that we can now pay school fees without any problem
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a bed at 3,500 KES. Paid 2,000 KES medical bills for my daughter who was sick. Bought a sheep at 2,500 KES. I also purchased foodstuffs for family consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to replace the walls of my house with new earth because the current walls is in bad shape. I have a plan of building a kitchen where I can prepare my meals and even my children get a place to sleep. I'm also planning to buy a water tank which will help me store rain water.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on paying school fees for my children who are in primary school and one who passed exams to join secondary school. I will also build a toilet as I don't have one, I will buy a two cows one for milk and the other for ploughing my farm. I plan also to spend part of the transfer on buying a bed and beddings for my children and I.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that in the past I used to stay in a grass thatched house and I managed to build the house that I currently stay in using cash from my business of selling fish.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that I find it hard to provide for my family's basic needs like food and water for domestic purposes as my income is not stable.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to the farm in the morning to plough it,I am happy to know that I will have a good harvest once the crops are ready for harvesting and my family will have food to eat.