GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Dorcas's Profile
Dorcas's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Dorcas's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on secondary school fees (22000), shopping of school needs (4300), bought sand (10000), cement (4250), repaid a loan (3800), contributed shares in my ROSCA (1500) and bought food (4000).
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My child was out of school but since i paid all the fees needed she is settled in school with every other school need catered for. Food is not a challenge anymore since i stocked enough with the token payment and i am sure i will renovate and plaster my house because i have bought the required materials for that. I thank GD.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on paying school fees ksh 5000, ksh 1500 on farming, ksh 2000 a sack of maize and ksh 1500 i bought clothes for my children and food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend ksh 10000 am going to pay for my child school fees, ksh 10000 will bring 1 lorry of sand , ksh 30000 i wil get cement, timber to repair my house wall , and pay for labor and food.
access_time over 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer on school fees for my child in high school. I also plan to plaster my house and buy steel door and windows.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have managed to build my own house. I managed to do this through savings that I got from my little income.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is inadequate water. I had to work long distance to fetch water for domestic use. I take like half a day to get water. This happens mostly during dry season.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when am in my farm weeding. I feel happy because I expect to get good harvest.