GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Grace's Profile
Grace's family
Grace
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Teaching
faceAge:
33
workCampaign
Kenya Large Transfer
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53010 KES ($362 USD)
access_time 9 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
As I progress through my teaching course, which I commenced in April 2023, I cannot help but look forward to the next year, when I will have completed it. Completing this course is not just a personal goal; it is a shared dream with my husband, Chengo. We both understand the importance of education and the opportunities it can bring. That is why I hope to be employed once I earn my teaching credentials to contribute to our family's financial stability. Supporting my husband, who has worked tirelessly to provide for us, is a goal I hold dear. It is a way of expressing my gratitude for his unwavering dedication to our family.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
GiveDirectly's efforts to uplift people from poverty have resulted in tangible, positive changes. The fact that children are now able to attend school is a testament to the transformative power of such initiatives. When lives are touched and futures are reshaped, it is a testament to the collective impact of individuals and organizations working towards a common goal. I am happy that GiveDirectly is such, and therefore, I never wish them to change anything about how they work.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
My husband, Chengo, runs a clothing business, a venture he opened with the first transfers and on which the family of four depends. He would often spend a significant portion of his earnings on transportation to reach his customers. It was a hurdle that hindered the business's growth potential. We both understood that a motorcycle could be the game-changer, the key to unlocking new opportunities and expanding the business's reach. However, with finances being a pitfall, we never purchased anything until the transfers arrived. When we received the transfers, we used them all to purchase a second-hand motorcycle. I am glad the motorcycle has not only improved our financial situation but also brought a sense of security and stability into our lives.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($390 USD)
access_time 11 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
At 3 PM, I found myself in a classroom, surrounded by stacks of assignments that needed marking. Amidst the sea of papers, my phone buzzed. With a quick glance, I saw that it was my husband calling. Excitement surged through me as I picked up the call, eager to share the news that we had been anxiously awaiting. The GiveDirectly transfers had arrived! It was a moment of pure joy, a glimmer of hope in the midst of life's challenges. The financial support we had been granted would undoubtedly ease our burden and pave the way for a brighter future. I could hardly contain my excitement as I relayed the news to my husband. We shared a moment of pure bliss, envisioning the possibilities that lay ahead. Both of us had talked of expanding my husband's clothing business. Each day, he toiled to sell clothes, earning a modest income of $20. But with an injection of capital, everything would change. More stock meant a wider selection of clothing, attracting more customers and boosting sales. Our dreams grew as we imagined the potential to turn that $20 into a magnificent $100, a feat that would not only secure our livelihood but also enable us to save for a better life.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The expansion of my husband's clothing business proved to be a game-changer. The injection of capital allowed us to increase our stock, attracting a larger customer base and generating higher revenues. Our daily income soared from a mere $20 to a promising $100. One of our priorities was upgrading our kitchen utensils. We invested in good quality utensils that not only enhanced our cooking experience but also allowed us to cater to visitors with pride. Sharing a meal with loved ones became a delightful affair, as we served them with grace and sophistication. Furthermore, We had previously relied on manual labor to plow our fields, a time-consuming and physically demanding task. However, with the increased income, we now had the means to invest in a plowing machine. This not only saved us time and effort but also increased the productivity of our farming endeavors. Our fields were tilled with precision and speed, resulting in better yields and improved profits. As our income grew, we found ourselves in a position of greater financial security. The burden of living paycheck to paycheck was lifted, and we could envision a brighter future.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
With the arrival of the GiveDirectly transfers, we had been granted the opportunity to make a positive change in our lives. First and foremost, we knew that investing in my husband's clothing business was a priority. With $200, we increased the stock and expand his range of offerings. It was a step towards financial stability and a brighter future. Next was to purchase a new television. Our old one had broken down, leaving a void in our entertainment and relaxation time and we used $100 on it. Also, utensils were an everyday necessity and we realized that ours were worn out and insufficient. With $100, we got good quality utensils that would make cooking and dining a more enjoyable experience. Family always came first for us, so we set aside $50 for food to ensure that our loved ones would never go hungry. Another $50 was dedicated to buying clothes for our children, ensuring they had the essentials they needed. Lastly, we allocated $50 towards school fees. By investing in their education, we were investing in their future, offering them a solid foundation for success. With the financial burdens lifted, we felt a renewed sense of ease and security. My income as an ECD teacher under the PTA would cover the food expenses, while my husband took on the responsibility of paying the school fees. As we reflected on the allocation of funds, we were filled with gratitude for the GiveDirectly transfers that had brought us this relief.
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 year ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
Education and supporting the business for my husband top the list of my priorities. Currently, I am enrolled in a diploma class which cost me $100 per session. The number of sessions adds up to 6 and this means the whole course will cost me $600. My plan once I receive this money is to ensure I clear 2 sessions to allow me to have smooth studies this year. In addition, I will also pay some school fees for my 2 children. On the other hand, I will spend a big portion of my transfers ($600) to boost my husband's business of selling clothes. This will guarantee him maximum profit in a short period. Achieving this will mean a better livelihood for my household and hence, this is generally what receiving this money means to me.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The coming of GiveDirectly to our area has been the biggest source of joy in my life. This is because my husband's hawking business involves moving around the villages to sell clothes. In the past, this was a very challenging job for him because the customers were not reliable due to the tough economic situation. Currently, he enjoys doing it since his income has slightly grown because people received money and they have been reliable customers to him. This has contributed to the increase in his daily income which is $10 compared to the past. Hence, this has been the sole reason to put a smile on me.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My job! I am currently a PTA teacher and the struggle I have had in this job since 2014 has pushed me to a tough end. Imagine being a mother of 2, yet my monthly salary is $70 only. This income is yet not consistent since, at the moment, I am still waiting for my March salary. Sometimes, the situation gets so worse to an extent of demoralizing me but I have been patient enough. At home, I depend on my husband who is doing hawking work. His daily income is also very low, usually $10. This earning go to food leaving him with nothing to save, a situation that has worried me the most. Hence, I consider the lack of a stable source of income as my biggest challenge.