chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Beatrice's Profile
Beatrice's family
Beatrice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
31
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Beatrice's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to buy materials to expand my house (25600), i built a pit latrine (9000), bought clothes (2000) and food (6000) the remaining 8000 will help me when i start expanding the house..
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Since GD visited me i have a kitchen, a pit latrine and soon my house will be bigger thanks to support from GD.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to build iron roofed kitchen because I was preparing my dishes in an open place. I also purchased foodstuffs for family consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to cement both floor and walls of my house because at the moment it is soil and demands frequent repairs which is also expensive. I'm also planning to buy some livestock with the remaining portion of the transfer.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer expand and plaster my house. I also plan to spend the transfer to build a kitchen. I also plan to spend the transfer to finish building a latrine which I had started. I also plan to spend the transfer to buy bulls and oxen plough that would help us during ploughing.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have managed to buy two cows and built a house for my family. I achieved these through the money that I got from a local table banking group which am a member.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is scarcity of water. I stay in a semi arid area with scarcity of water thereby making us to use a lot of money in buying water for domestic use.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when am in the farm weeding for someone. I am happy because I will get some money to buy food for my family.