chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Ezra's Profile
Ezra's family
Ezra
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
55
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Ezra's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend 16000 kshs to buy dairy-cow, 2 goats at 4000 kshs, l also spend 3000 kshs for medication, l also spend 2500 kshs to pay schools then l bought 10 iron-sheets at 6300 kshs the remaining balance l still have it with me as l am planning to renovate my house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l earn my daily income through my dairy-cow that proves me with milk daily.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 8,000 to buy and fix a metallic. I also purchased foodstuffs for family consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to pay dowry with a portion of the transfer. I'm also planning to replace my roofing with new iron sheets because the current ones are too old and leaking.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to renovat my house because my house is leaking. Secondly l would wish to pay dowry to my parents inlaw to appreciate my parents inlaw. Finally l would like to build a kitchen to help in times of rain.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that we have struggled to build iron roofed house since we used to stay in a grass thatched house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of proper source of income to support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is when having lunch with my children after school.