chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
43
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48250 KES ($476 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent 16000 KES to cement my house, bought furniture 10000 KES,bought steel door and windows 8000 KES. sent 12000 KES for my dowry.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a goal of educating my children and having a water tank in my homestead.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I have a good house and kitchen, my dowry payment has been done.I feel very happy and peaceful than before.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($492 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on building a kitchen.I also want to plaster the floor of my main house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a kitchen and no longer cook on the sun or rain.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought mattress, cooking pots, a chair, and a goat.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I would like o build a kitchen for my kids to spend, I will plaster my floor and buy another chair and table.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying furniture for my house, beddings and utensils. I am also planning to buy a water tank for water harvesting, I also plan to build a kitchen and also to renovate my house by cementing it. I will also use the rema
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that we have struggled and managed to build a house for our family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that getting food to eat is a problem and at times we stay without a meal in our house. We also find it hard to get school fees for our children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to the market to sell items like sugar, soap and salt in small quantities in the afternoon I have hope that I will get some money that I can use to sustain our family.