chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Emilly's Profile
Emilly's family
Emilly
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
29
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Emilly's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 30,000 KES to buy bricks, 15,000 KES to buy cement and 4,000 KES on daily household expenses.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am going to live in a permanent house soon and I will be able to live in a house that can withstand harsh weather conditions and termites that have constantly made us do repairs.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
bought a donkey @ 7,000KES, 3,000KES on my child's funeral who just passed away when I
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
cement and sand and cement the floor and walls of my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building my house, I will start a business and pay school fees for my children. I will also use my transfer on buying a cow.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that we were able to build the house that we are currently staying in.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that we are faced with hunger as the money we get from the casual jobs we do is very little to sustain our family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to our farm in the morning to plough it.