chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Daniel's Profile
Daniel's family
Daniel
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
58
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent third transfer on renovating my house and constructing a toilet 48000 KES.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goal is to buy a friesian cow for my daily income.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different than it would have been if i never received the transfer is i couldn't have manage to build a house and construct a toilet.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 14 bags of cement at 9,800 KES, four tractors of murram soil at 14,000 KES, two tractors of gravel at 9,000 KES, two tractors of sand at 9,000 KES, paid 7,000 KES labour charge then used the rest on food for my family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The floor of my is now cemented and it's no longer dusty as before when my children used to get infected from flees due to dust.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on weeding my farm 8000 KES and used balance on daily meals.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to bring materials and plaster my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy sand, cement, timber, round poles and nails which I will use to renovate my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having married a beautiful wife who has given birth to my wonderful children who are my pride and joy.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of a sustainable source of income for myself, taking care of my familys basic needs is a huge problem which means that at times my family cannot even have three square meals a day.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am with my family as we chat and share a meal together.