chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Roselyne's Profile
Roselyne's family
Roselyne
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
48
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
from my third transfer, I spent 10,000 KES to buy sand and the remaining 40,000 KES am still planning on how to use it.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goal is to be a prominent sugarcane farmer
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different in that, I managed to pay school fees for my children without any stress and I would not be living in a bigger house now.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used 30000 KES of the first lumpsum in furnishing my house and saved 20000 KES that I'll use next term in paying school fee for my child.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has improved and I do not have any stress of looking for school fee because I already have money saved for next terms fee.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on paying school fees 6000 KES and used balance on daily meals.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy a water tank.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use my transfer to purchase a water tank to help me with water harvesting because my area is prone to drought. I also plan to pay school fee for my daughter in college and in high school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have struggled to educate my children. My spouse died when our eldest child was only nine years and she is currently training as a teacher.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in life is that I lack a proper source of income and I have children to educate.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I kneel down to thank God for my family and for provision.