chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Margaret's Profile
Margaret's family
Margaret
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
48
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Margaret's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent the transfer to pay school fees of 15000 kshs to my child in high school, l bought steel-door at 6700 kshs, cushion at 3000 kshs, school uniforms at 2500 kshs, 1 sack of maize at 2000 kshs, utensils at 4200 kshs, l also spent 4500 kshs to dig pit-latrine, l hard a debt of 2000 kshs so l use the transfer to pay the remaining balance l spent to buy foodstuffs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has change l am really eating well.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on paying school fees ksh 3000 , rented a farm to use for farming ksh 3000 and bought house hold goods i did not have .
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend it on paying school fees , buy a metal door and build a toilet
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to spend the transfer on school fees,I would also like to buy a water tank that will harvest rain water for drinking.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
Looking back, I would say getting married and being able to raise my children in a proper way is the achievement I am proudest of.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Our biggest hardship is inadequate food as well as lack of proper source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I'm preparing a nice breakfast for my family.