chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Millicent's Profile
Millicent's family
Millicent
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
41
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Millicent's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought water tank (28000 KES) paid school fees (10000 KES) and 12000 KES to start cereal business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference is that am at peace because I have paid school fees, I have my own business which satisfies my daily needs and a water tank to store water.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 6,000KES school fees for my children, and spent 2,000KES on buying utensils.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy a water tank, and open a vegetable and grocery shop so that I may have a source of income.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We would like to buy seeds,farm equipments and fertilizers so that we can embark on large scale farming that will enable us produce high yields.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
Taking care of our children and seeing them through school despite the hardships we are facing is the only achievement we're proudest of.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I would say lack of school fees and the burden of taking care of 13 children is the hardship we are currently facing.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon while having lunch together with my children.