chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Rose's Profile
Rose's family
Rose
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
27
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Rose's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought a cow (19000 KES) furniture (1200 KES) mattress (4000 KES) solar lamp (3000 KES) school fees (1000 KES) a sack of maize (2400 KES) and the rest on food for the family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I now have a cow, a mattress and furniture which I never heard before. I feel comfortable and happy.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my Token payment on purchase of one goat and payment of secondary school fee for my child
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on building a new house and investing in a cow which I will sell in future to raise school fee for my child.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on renovating my house as it is currently leaking when it rains, I have a child who is joining secondary school next year so I will pay school fees for her and part of the transfer I will use to take my child to hospital as he falls sick so often.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I was able to build my own house after my husband died using cash that I got from a certain NGO.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that I find it difficult to support my children in terms of food they eat and school fees as currently I am not working and I am a widow.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I see my children in the evening when they are back from school.