chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Serfina's Profile
Serfina's family
Serfina
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
61
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Serfina's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought two sets of seats at 20,000 KES, a steel door at 8,000 KES, 15 bags of cement at 11,250 KES, sand at 1,500 KES and paid for labour at 6,000 KES to have the house plastered. I also added some money to buy a cow at 10,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have been able to plaster my house and therefore the walls are stronger and protected from harsh weather. The floor is also plastered and am no longer in fear of jigger infestation. I am very grateful to GD for sending the transfers to me.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 5,000 KES school fees. I spent the on cushions and food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to buy bulls for ploughing and cement my house with the remainder.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on renovating my house by buying cement to repair it, I will pay school fees for my child who is in form four in a local secondary school and part of the transfer we will spend on buying a goat and a cow. The remaining amount we shall spend on purchasing maize that we will eat at home.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that we have been able to take our first born to school till he finished and now he is working.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that we face in our life is that making ropes from sisal is not an easy job and getting money out of it is a slow process as we have to wait for it to be sold so that we can buy food.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to my farm in the morning to plough it,I am happy because when I harvest I will have food to eat.