chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
57
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($480 USD)
access_time 1 year ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
The third transfer came at a time when I had just lost my daughter in-law and all the money was spent in organizing the funeral programs and taking care of the visitors.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($487 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer to buy a piece of land where I am going to construct my house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I have found a place where I am going to peacefully live in thanks to GiveDirectly.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($96 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on a bag of maize because i did not farm and this would help me provide food for my household. I also bought 2 chairs and a mattress.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I felt relieved when i received my money because i will get food for my household throughout the dry season.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 2 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
My plan is to use the transfer to buy a piece of land, and build a house, so that I have my own home, because currently, I am homeless.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am very proud of is, having managed to bring up my children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced is paying rent every month, because of inadequate income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoons, after earning some income from my casual work, and being sure that I would eat.