chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Paul's Profile
Paul's family
Paul
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
19
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Paul's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($488 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
Using my second transfer,I added it my mother's who is also a recipient and we bought a one acre piece of land that we are planning to build a home. We were sent away by my father who rejected us and for the better part of our lives we have been renting at the nearby shopping center where GiveDirectly enrolled us into there programs. I have acquired the land we will no longer be homeless again. After purchasing the land,the remaining amount I used to start a small business of selling boiled eggs. The Income I get sustains my family and my mother. I am better of as compared to before.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have acquired land and soon we will no longer be homeless. This is the best that has ever happened to me and my family after being homeless for long time. My family also have something to feed on daily gaining from the egg business I started.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on buying four sacks of maize, a mattress, a blanket and plastic chairs
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming transfer on buying a piece of land, building a new house and starting a small business
 
Enrolled
access_time over 2 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
My first plan is to use part of the transfer to start a second-hand clothes selling business, for income generation. Secondly, I plan to use another part of the transfer to build my house. Lastly, I plan to use the remaining amount to buy furniture for my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
Having bought a sheep as an investment, with savings from my casual work , is the achievement I'm very proud of.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Providing food for my family, due to unreliable source of income, is the biggest hardship I have faced.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evenings, when I have bought some food for my family, using earnings from my casual work.