GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Edith's Profile
Edith's family
Street trading - food (self-employed)
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Edith's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($368 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different in that, my income has increased as I now operate two businesses; a green grocer shop and a traditional Kenyan scarf business.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goal is to open up a whole sale shop for household goods and amenities such as food stuffs and other items. I hope to open up this shop at an area like Huruma estate.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my most recent transfer to begin a new business. I begun a business in selling a cultural Kenyan scarf known as a "Khanga". I get these scarfs from Mombasa county and I resell them here in Nairobi county, and in Mathare. I hawk these scarfs during the day around Mathare. I have also owned a green grocer shop for about three years now where I sell vegetables such as kale, spinach, tomatoes, onions; among others. The green grocer business does well in the evening mostly when people are preparing for dinner. I hawk the 'Khangas' during the day, and I concentrate on the green grocer shop in the evening as from 4:00 PM. I started the new 'Khanga' business to supplement my other income from my green grocer shop, as I am a single mother.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($195 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I plan to expand my business with my next transfer by adding new products such as cereals. I will also construct a larger stall and invest in home deliveries.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
My business has really grown over the last one month, all thanks to the money that I received from GD which helped, me to bring more products. I have been making much more profits compared to what I made before which has enabled me smoothly take care of my needs and make some good savings on my mobile savings platform. This will help me in times of need when I might require a quick loan.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I have been selling vegetables for two years, when I received the money from GD, I saw it wise to expand the business by adding more items to my stall to increase my profits. I have always wanted to do this but could not raise the money for the expansion. I also used part of the money to pay my rent and purchase a few household items. I saved the remaining amount to enable me to pay my children's school fees next year.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
When I saw the message, I thought that it was a mistake or someone was trying to play a prank on me, so I withdrew 1000KES of the money through an agent number of a friend of mine which I would pick in the morning. I did this so that if the money was to be reversed, I would not be left empty handed. Fortunately, the message that came after that confirmed to me that my balance was something I never had in my M-pesa account before,meaning the money was there to stay.This is when it occurred to me that the money could be from GD. I was so happy that I could not sleep for the rest of the night.
access_time over 5 years ago
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I prioritize like that because I have always wanted to have a business of my own so that I can have a stable income to sustain myself family. Secondly, I will build a house so that I can rent it out to get more income and add to the other business and lastly, I will save some for my child's school fees because I want her to concentrate at school and not be sent home because of school fees so that she can pass her exams.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is unemployment and not being able to have income because it will mean my daughter will lack necessities and secondly, health crisis because when am sick I won't be able to make money and no one will take care of my daughter and lastly getting daily subsistence to take care of my family because it means that my daughter might lack food for the day.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition in life is to be a big supplier of both food and non food stuff all over Nairobi. I want to be a well known business lady within Nairobi.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
Once I woke up in the morning I first go out to buy vegetables at wholesale so that I can come and sell them during the day at my stall. Once am back I prepare my daughter to school then do household chores then later go to my stall. Later I go pick her back from school then be at my stall again till 9pm at night. Then go back home eat rest for few hours and sleep.