GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Kevin's Profile
Kevin's family
Construction (works for others)
FSD / Urban Youth
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($472 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different from how it would have been had I not received the transfer. This is because I currently own some assets such as sheep that I did not have before. I can always lean on them in case of a financial crisis. Also, I nowadays sleep well because the transfers enabled me to acquire a bed. Before I GiveDirectly came for enrollment, I used to sleep on the floor and it was always very cold at night and I would spend good hours of the night turning on the bed.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My additional goal in life is to buy a motorcycle so that I can hire someone to be operating it. This will enable me to still earn an income even on the days when I do not have work at the construction sites.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I received my recent transfer at the time when I had just lost my father. Since I am the eldest son in my family, all the responsibility was on me. Due to this, I spent the entire amount to pay for the mortuary bill and to cater for the funeral. I am glad since GiveDirectly allowed me to give my father a decent send-off.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($368 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is really different at the moment. I spent KES 5000 of the first transfers to start my wife a grocery business. It is a decision that I have never regretted. This has greatly helped me as far as meeting my family needs is concerned. Earlier on before receiving the transfer my family used to solely rely on me for the needs. The burden was sometimes too much on me. It was even more challenging to fend for my family as construction jobs are seasonal and pay little. At the moment I feel so much relieved since as at now my wife got us. She can pay bills whenever I am jobless. I am the happiest now, thanks to the transfers.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I have a plan to building a house upcountry. Before receiving these transfers I had no such plan. When I received the transfers I saw it as a great opportunity to build myself a house since I had none back home. The main challenge came whenever I travel to my rural home since I have no place to sleep together with my family. I also have a plan of relocating my family back home since its much cheaper to maintain them there. I have no reliable source of income since I rely on construction jobs which are seasonal. Therefore I could not have had the ability to build a house. I have made progress with and I have roofing sheets worth KES 17000. I also have a plan of doing a driving course. The next transfer will cater for the fee required. After the course, I will be certain of a more reliable job and hence steady income for my family.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent the most recent the transfers as follows: I bought iron sheets worth KES 17000 since I am planning to build a new house in my rural home. I also paid rent with KES 8000 this had accrued for three months. KES 5000 came in as capital for starting my wife's grocery. These were the expenses around rent, buying stock and getting the whole place ready for business I then saved KES 4000 and sent my mother KES 2000 for her upkeep.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($195 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have no house back at home and I wish to construct one with the next transfer, at least to take away the shame of living in the city yet having nothing to show for it. I also plan to start a shop business for my wife so that she can also have her own source of income and assist with the family responsibilities. This will be quite helpful because the casual jobs that I mostly rely on are very irregular and unreliable.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I now own a bed which has given my tiny house a facelift. I also have livestock which I never thought I could own in my life due to my low income.GD has taken away my shame as I can now brag of owning something of value.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I decided to invest part of the money that I received back at home by purchasing four goats which I plan to sell in a few years in order to buy a cow. My initial desire was to buy a cow, but I was not able to do so because the money was little and I had other pressing needs as well. I spent the rest of the money on household items, ie bed and foodstuff.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
On the day that I received the money, I had no money on me and was going to leave my family with absolutely no money for food. I just can't explain how happy and thankful I was to see such a beautiful message and all I could think of was buying my family a wonderful breakfast before planning on how to spend the rest of the money.
access_time 5 years ago
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
Investing in a new business means continuous flow of income of which have been thinking of a certain business for a while now. As per my tradition, having a house at my age is paramount for I always borrow somewhere to sleep everytime I go reserved area(ushago).finally would want my wife to do a certain coarse to enhance our family.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is Unemployment because it makes me weary and lack of morale in doing anything in life. Am a family man and so I have people looking up-to me not only my marriage but also my extended family, once I have no job I can barely provide for my dependants nor have a growth in my entire life. It's like am living a stagnant life which means I cease to exist. Even though my government tries to bridge this gap of unemployment it's like next to impossible,I hope GiveDirectly will do something to help them.
What are your greatest ambitions?
I would to be a Forman in this field of masonry and be in charge of people so that can show the type of leadership needed and how to treat other people inspite of their limitations. This is because am well experienced and know the dynamics of this field.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
After my daily work of masonry and I have a phone I always stay online(facebook) chatting with my friends on issues affecting my life and theirs as well. And when I do not have a phone I always relax in house listening to radio for I do not have a television. Sometimes I go visit my close pals but mostly on Sunday just to catch up.