GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Edwina's Profile
Edwina's family
Edwina
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
24
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Edwina's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the first lumpsum transfer in buying furniture at a cost of 10000 KES, started up a business using 8000 KES, bought building materials at 22000 KES , paid a debt of 7000 KES and used the rest of the money on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has improved because I now have a source of income from the business I started up.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 4500 on farming, bought cushions (2000), household goods and food (3400).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to use my lump-sum payment on building a new house and buying household goods.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use my transfer to expand my house because it is small. I will use the remaining amount to support my spouse's dream to become a tractor driver because he left the training half way due to lack of money.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have a family and that I am a dedicated mother and wife who works hard to ensure her family eats and her children get basic education.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is that I don't have a good source of income and therefore not able to sufficiently provide for all the financial needs of my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when my family is together and sharing our experiences of the day.