GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Ziporah's Profile
Ziporah's family
Ziporah
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
50
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Ziporah's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my first lumpsum transfer, I paid secondary school fees for my son with 30000 KES, I spent 15000 KES on 20 iron sheets, and the remaining 5000 KES on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am now having a total piece of mind since donations from GD have liberated me from heavy burden I had like paying school fees for my son and providing for my household members, a big difference in my daily life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used all my token payment on School fee for my son (10000).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to pay school fee and build a new house with my upcoming lump-sum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to build another house because this one is in a very bad condition since most of it's walls have cracks and the roof is also worn out. I also plan to start selling kerosene inorder to make a living. Lastly, I plan to clear my son's school fees.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I own a farm that can produce enough food and even right now I have enough stock of farm produce in the house hence I don't have to walk from house to house begging for food.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My sickness has been my biggest hardship because I have not been able to raise money to seek treatment for my ulcers since I don't have a source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I'm happiest in the afternoon when I'm sharing funny stories with my friends because it keeps my mind pre-occupied and helps me relieve stress.