GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Ann's Profile
Ann's family
Ann
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
30
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
We bought two cows 30000 KES, steel doors and windows 12000 KES and two sacks of maize 4600 KES.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goal is education my daughter.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I am happy my dowry has been paid, we have a business and we live in a comfortable new house. Our life has improved generally.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend 25000 kshs of the transfer to buy business house in the center, l also bought business equipment worth 4000 kshs, business items worth 12000 kshs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has really change because l now have some where to get daily income because of my business.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
We spent my Token payment on school fee and basic household furniture.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We plan to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on 2nd hand motor bike, weeding services and a cow.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to buy a second hand motorcycle that my husband will be using to transport locals to and fro Kendu town. I also plan to spend the transfer to construct a bigger house to accommodate my family. I also plan to spend the transfer to buy a cow.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have been able to build my own house however small it is. I managed to do this from my savings.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is that of low income thereby making life unbearable for us.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I manage to get food for my children.