GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Michael's Profile
Michael's family
Michael
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
31
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($527 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
check
 
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($546 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference is that I have been able to resume sugarcane farming. This has helped me generate income for my family and bought enough food to sustain us. My family has been struggling given that we could not sustain our daily needs due to the lack of a steady income and there are days we slept on empty stomachs.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The moment I received my transfer I knew I was going to resume sugarcane farming to help me generate income for family members.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
When I received my first transfer I embarked on my sugarcane farming that I had suspended due to lack of adequate finances. This has been a major source of income in my home so its suspension meant that we struggled to make ends meet. The remaining amount I bought a cow to rear for future economic income. Now I have a steady income fro the cane farming.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My ambition has always been to be a plant operator, I know how to operate these heavy earth moving machines but I do not have a license. This means that I can not be employed by any relevant company. Getting the transfer means that I will be able to enroll for a plant operator course and upon successful completion I will be able to be a licensed plant operator. This will enable me to get a job and the income will greatly improve the living standards of my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when watching movies with my friends after I have completed my day's work in the sugar cane plantation farms. At this time we relax our minds as we make fun of each other. This makes me feel relieved from the stresses I go through during the day as I do casual labour.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life was losing my mother at the age of 5. This forced me to live with my step mother who never allowed me to realize my dream of becoming a plant operator as she never paid my primary school fees. This forced me to drop out of school in standard four and denied me a chance to further my education hence could not become a plant operator.