chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Dominic's Profile
Dominic's family
Dominic
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Construction (works for others)
faceAge:
32
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Dominic's next check-in.
 
4th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($50 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I do not have any new goal at the moment since I am planning to expand my poultry project. The transfers I get from GiveDirectly has enabled me to raise enough capital to start poultry keeping project. I planning to keep both chicken and turkey. I chose this idea because they are easy to maintain and the business of selling the poultry itself or its products has high returns because they are on high demand. This two type of birds can also be reared in one place. I believe all will go well since I have all it takes to make sure the business is successful.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life since I started receiving payments from GiveDirectly is that I have now started keeping some turkey. It has been my dream for a long time but since the start-up capital is so high and my little income could not allow me to do so. I kept on hoping that I would one day accomplish this idea. I thank Give Directly for coming through to help me start this business because it is going to open many doors for me.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my most recent transfer to buy two Turkeys. I decided on this since they are profitable and needs less attention, their food is also locally available. Its eggs are quite expensive compared to chicken eggs because it is believed turkey eggs have medicinal value. I believe that with time the business will grow and start generating enough income. This will help me cater to my family needs and goals. I do not regret going for this idea since it is lucrative hence diversifying my source of income since I am currently the only person who has ventured into this business in my region.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
It was early in the morning after I woke up as I was going through my phone when I saw a message. Upon reading its content, my heart was filled with happiness as the message confirmed that I had received the money that GiveDirectly had promised us. This gave me hope to fulfill my dreams and establish myself. I sat down for almost thirty minutes meditating on the money I had just received, planning and re-planning the ideas on how best I could use the transfers. For the first time in life, I had the hope of achieving my plans. The message also made me know that indeed GiveDirectly was going to honor their promise.
 
Enrolled
access_time 7 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My first priority is to expand my poultry business in order to get more income that will help me to take care of my family. I truly believe that this will uplift my living standard as I will have a stable source of income from the sale of poultry. My second priority will be to save part of the transfer,for future emergencies like outbreak of diseases that may attack my poultry. My third priority will be to use the remaining part my transfer to add more poultry.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is crime, however much I have an ambition of starting a poultry business. I fear that I will not be able to accomplish my dreams, because where I live, insecurity is high and I have witnessed many of my neighbors' businesses being attacked. You find that one cannot start a certain business such M-pesa due to fear of being robbed.
What are your greatest ambitions?
I have always wanted to be a successful businessman, just like Jimmy wanjingi, a renowned businessman in kenya so that I can be wealthy. I have witness many people succeeding in life due to engaging in businesses.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
I usually wake up at 6:00am, then I do house chores, afterwards Isit down with my phone scrolling online business opportunity that might interest me, this will depend if I get a business opportunity, if so I will do follow up in order to know more about that business. Afterwards, at around 2:00pm I normally go to our group where i usually take advantage of my free time to mingle and to do some clean ups. At around 7:00pm I head back home just to be with my family.