GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Minyuma's Profile
Minyuma's family
Minyuma
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
43
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Minyuma's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 15,000 KES on school fees (secondary school), I bought a bull at 22,000 KES to use on farming, other farming expenses cost me 3,000 KES and I started a business with 6,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I now spend less time harrowing and ploughing my farm because I have a bull that use on my hand drawn plough to cover a large area within a short time.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to pay fee to my son in high school. I also used the rest in farming activities.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to buy a cow with a portion. I'm also planning to invest the rest in stone chipping business.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use my transfer on my children's secondary education, expand my house because it's small and I have a large family, and invest the remaining amount on farming so as to raise my level of income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have a peaceful marriage. I love my wife so much.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in life is lack of money to sufficiently sustain and cater for the financial needs of my family because I have no reliable source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am back home from work with something to offer my family such as food.