GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Janet's Profile
Janet's family
Janet
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
32
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Janet's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid 20,000 KES school fee for my son in high school, bought 21 iron sheets at 13,650 KES, wall and roofing poles at 9,100 KES, nails at 1,200 KES, paid 3,000 KES labour charge, used 2,000 KES to prepare food for the workers then used the rest on food for the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now having my own house, unlike before when I used to stay in my mother-in-law's house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought 5 iron sheets at 3,400 KES, a bag of dry maize at 2,600 KES and paid part of school fees (secondary School) for 2,000 KES. The rest was spent on daily food expenditure.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy more construction materials and start constructing my house. I currently sojourns in my mother-in-law's house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to build a house because I am homeless. My spouse disappeared six years ago and left me in a house that later collapsed and I have not been able to raise money to build another house as the little income I get is only enough for food and school fee for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have struggled as a sand harvester to educate my son who is currently in third form.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life is poverty. I have had to engage in sand harvesting which is a very difficult job for me as a woman. I only have to do it to feed and ensure my children get basic education.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when my family wake up well and ready to face the day.