chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Hairine's Profile
Hairine's family
Hairine
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
38
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
From my third transfer, I bought 2 cattle at 40,000 KES and the remaining 8,000 KES I spent to restock my green grocery business.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goal is to buy an ox-plough.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different in that, I have my own green grocery business, I have livestock and also I have a bigger house
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on an OX 20000 KES, 10 iron sheets 6000 KES, 3Kg nails 1500, 2 bags of maize 5000 KES, primary school fees for my 2 children 3000 KES, food 4500 KES and labor charges for building a house 10000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has changed because i used to plough myself but now i have an ox that has made it easier and i also have a new house that nobody could have built for me since i am a widow.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought 21 cushions at 4,000 KES, a sack of maize at 3,000 KES, paid 2,000 KES medical bills then used the rest on food for the house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Am planning to build an iron roofed house with cemented florr then buy a cow with the rest of cash.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on paying a debt that I owe our village lending and saving scheme called SILK using the first transfer and I will spend part of the transfer on buying a mattress. The second transfer I will spend on building a bigger house as I will buy twenty bags of cement and sand that will be used in building my new house then the remainder I will spend on buying a plowing machine that I will use in plowing my farm. The remaining third transfer I will spend on paying school fees for my child and the remaining part I will spend on buying furniture for my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that I was able to buy a cow and a bed using cash that I got from our village saving and lending scheme called SILK as in the past I did not have a cow and I slept on the floor.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that I am a widow and supporting my family's needs is a challenge as I don't have anyone to support me.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I wake up in the morning to bake doughnut for my kids and some for sale. This makes me happy as I love baking.