chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Cynthia's Profile
Cynthia's family
Cynthia
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
27
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Cynthia's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid school fees (15000 KES) bought iron (sheets 9750 KES), cement (9500 KES), utensils (4000 KES), labor charge (13000 KES) and spend some on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
We were living in a small house but now we have build a bigger house and also bought a few things were were lacking.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my Token payment on extension of a kitchen for 10,000 KES
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on construction of a new house and also paying school fee.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to build a house, pay school fees and to complete payment for the tailoring course I am currently undertaking.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is that I like helping vulnerable people when I can. I live with orphaned children from the larger extended family, who I provide for food, clothing, education and shelter.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is the burden of school fees. I have no income source, I totally depend on my husband.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon relaxing and sewing. I like sewing.