chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Jane's Profile
Jane's family
Jane
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
43
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Jane's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 4 sheep for 14,000 KES, seats for 25,000 KES and started business with 10,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Since I started my business with money from GD, I have been able to get steady income that allows me to meet my daily needs.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spend the money to buy blanket@1000, bed 4000, plates 10pcs @2000 the rest of the mone use for buying food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build a more comfortable house that can accommodate me with my family
 
Enrolled
access_time over 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to renovate and expand my house, buy household items like sofa sets, water storage containers and beddings. I also plan to invest in business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest is picking up my life after the fire tragedy that got my house burnt down. I was able to start life a fresh, I built another house, the kids are in school, everything is okay.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is the burden of school fees. I barely make it to pay for this on time.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I do house chores like fetching water, doing laundry and even farm work mostly during morning hours.