GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Weldon's Profile
Weldon's family
Weldon
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
23
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($483 USD)
access_time 6 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Having received my first and second transfer, I developed a new goal of starting an idustry goods shop. Back here in the village, I have seen this as a gap where people have to travel for long distance to get even the most basic commodities something that could help me make more income. I plan to use proceeds from my clothe selling business to set this up.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion GiveDirectly doe so well in enrolling each and every household within the village. The fact that they give these people the freedom to choose what to spend the money on is so fulfilling. I personally did not find anything that I did not like about GiveDirectly and their model of operation. We are so grateful as a village and I am even more grateful at a personal level.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent KES 45000 to pay school fees for my wife who is in college and needed the money so much at that time. I used the remaining amount to buy food and other basic household necessities for my family. We feel so much happy as a family and lucky to have been part of the beneficiaries and can't be thankful enough.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($489 USD)
access_time 9 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was at the market where I sell clothes for a living when I received a message notification at 9 a.m. I became curious and even though I was expecting the cash transfer from GiveDirectly, I did not want to get excited too early. When I checked my phone, I saw that I had received KES 55,000. I was overwhelmed with joy and could not wait to buy a dowry cow at the market.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I am so appreciative of the fact that this cash transfer has enabled me to meet my family's needs. I sell second-hand clothes to earn a living. On a good day, I earn KES 300. This amount is not enough to cater for our living expenses including food, shelter, clothing and education. This has proven to be a major cause of stress in my life. So I was delighted receive this transfer that enabled me to buy a dairy cow, foodstuff and pay for my wife's college fees. We no longer spend money on buying milk and can afford at least three meals a day. Our lives have changed for the better.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
We have been buying milk daily, at KES 40 a litre. Even though it's necessary, it is too costly for my family because I earn just KES 300 a day from selling second-hand clothes on a good day, and we have other needs that need to be met too. So I was pleased to spend KES 30,000 to purchase a dairy cow so that we wouldn't have to buy milk anymore. I then spent KES 15,000 on paying for my wife's college fees. Lastly, I spent KES 8,000 on foodstuff to ensure we had enough for the household.
 
Enrolled
access_time 10 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means I will be able to increase my assets by purchasing dairy cows. So far I have been able to buy a piece of land that I'm going to rear the dairy cows in. I married a year ago, so I'm expecting my family to expand in the next few years. I'm focusing on increasing my sources of income so that when responsibilities come around, I will not strain a lot. This will cost KES 50,000. For the rest of the amount, I plan to start off my wife to go back to school for higher learning to improve her employability.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I'm back from my small clothing business. My whole day is spent selling clothes at a local center where I opened up a clothes shop. I deal with all kinds of customers all day long and it gets so tiresome. In the evening I come back home to rest as well as spend my time with my wife .
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I lost my Dad when I was only two years old. Growing up without a father was very hard because my mum had raised the six of us singlehandedly. I was forced to start fending for myself when I turned 18 years because I wanted to help my mother raise two of my young siblings. Along the way, I lost two of my siblings which affected me a lot. Up to date, I still support my mother meet her basic needs as well as meet my family's needs too.