chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Phian's Profile
Phian's family
Phian
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Health/community (regular labour)
faceAge:
20
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Phian's next check-in.
 
13th Payment
Transfer Amount
3997 KES ($40 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Before the transfers, I had a goal of repairing my parent's house. The one they had at that time was old and leaning on one side. The roof too was very rusty and some part was leaking already. I was not pleased with it and decided to focus my resources on building a new house. So when I started getting my transfers, I started a savings account where I used to keep my transfers. I am glad I was able to use my transfers to buy building materials such as iron sheets and nails which I used in building a new house for my parents. I am glad the stress I had about my parent's safety is no more because of GD transfers.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My only goal for the transfers now is to continue saving so that I may always have money ready whenever I have any financial crisis such as school fees. I don't like the idea that anytime I have financial need, I have to borrow or seek help. I want to be independent. The only way I can achieve this is to save.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my transfer on paying school fees arrears for my children. I have always used part of my monthly transfers to pay for their fees even before they are sent home. This has really helped me in avoiding the children from being sent home for the arrears. The rest of the transfer I used on buying food for my family. I did not have any emergency financial need at that time and instead of using the money for unnecessary needs, I decided to boost the stock of food I had in the house.
 
10th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($49 USD)
access_time 7 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I am glad right now I am financial stable. This is a very big step for me since in the past, I did not have any stable source of income. I would have to sit at a corner where we would wait for any casual work that would arise and we go for it to earn a living. At times, we would go for a whole day without getting anything to do. In such days, I would have to borrow or beg for food. Since I started receiving these transfers, I have managed to start a small fruit business which has really helped me be stable financially from the small profits I get on a daily basis. I no longer have to sit and wait for casual work nor do I bed for food anymore.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
Currently, I am only focusing on raising money to pay for my college fees. I will use my transfer for savings and come next year, I will use the amount I have saved to register for catering course.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my transfer on savings. I am planning to go back to school to further my studies and I will use my transfers to pay for college fees and requirements. This is why I have decided to save my transfers to facilitate me in this.
 
8th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($48 USD)
access_time 10 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Currently, my life is different from how it was in that, I am self dependent. I used to depend on relatives for financial support and most of the time I could be disappointed because they were not able to send money when I needed it most instead send the money later on. I am also proud because I have been able to save save money with an aim of building my mother a house. I had never thought of saving and thought that it was actualy inpossible. I know that I will be able to build the house very soon.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goal is to go back to college. I had dropped out of college due to lack of school fees. I used to sell clothes in order to take care of my needs and pay fees although the money was not enough, therefore, I had to drop out of school. I am determined to finish school using the transfers I get from Give Directly because I know that education is a way to a bright future.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I kept a large portion of my transfer as savings. I plan to build a house for my mother with these savings. The current house she is living in is in a very bad condition. It is an old grass-thatched one which leaks during the rainy season. The walls are weak and I am afraid that it might collapse because it was built a long time ago. I am the one who can help now that I was lucky to be among the beneficiaries of Give Directly. I also paid school fees for my child and used the remaining amount on food.
 
4th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($50 USD)
access_time 1 year ago
attach_money
 
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 1 year ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My first priority is to save most of the money for sometime, money accumulated will help me pay for my education which is my third priority. I had gone for a vocational training on catering but did not manage to finish the course. I couldn't afford the fees so that's why I want to invest in my education finish and use the skills to open a bakery. My other priority is to invest in my existing business of selling second hand under garments, by buying new stoke and finding a suitable shop to sell at.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is not achieving my ambitions because this means that whatever goals I set maybe in a year will not be met. And that disorients my plans in many ways. It could be financial plans or even growing socially.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition in life is to be an empowered woman, be someone who people will admire in future. Once am empowered and advanced, then I can be a tool of change to my peers and empower them as well. I also want to finish my catering course, open a bakery and be able to grow financially and support my child and family.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
On my usual day I wake up, do some house cleaning, prepare food for my children then ho to work. I work at Hope Worldwide Kenya in Mathare. That is where I spend most of the time compiling files, writing reports and from time to time I facilitate mentorship programs for girls. Before the days work we normally have devotional mornings and pray for an hour then start work. During lunch and breakfast breaks I sell my second hand garments because my market is if women and young girls who visit us at the office. During my free time I watch TV, get updated on what's happening in my community and I spend time with my family and friends as well.