GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Eunice's Profile
Eunice's family
House staff (works for others)
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Eunice's next check-in.
13th Payment
Transfer Amount
3997 KES ($40 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
School fees has been my major financial challenge ever since my children joined the school. This is because I have a very small income from a small foodstuff business which has not been earning me much. I have always had to take loans and small debts to pay school fees for my children. As a result, I realized I had a lot of debts I could not pay yet I was not even done with the arrears. This is where GD transfers have brought a change in my life. Ever since I started getting my transfers, I have been paying school fees arrears for my children on a monthly basis and even though I am not through with the payments my children are never sent home for fees arrears anymore. I have also paid all my debts with the transfers.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I still plan to use my transfers on saving. My main goal is to ensure I always pay school fees arrears for my children in time. I always feel happy as a parent when my children go through the year without being sent home for fees arrears.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my transfers on paying school fees for my son in nursery school. I have been doing this on a monthly basis to reduce the balance I have in school. I also gifted my mother some amount which she requested for some of her personal needs. I used the rest to buy household items such as food and clothes for my family. We had very old clothes and I felt it was wise to buy a couple of clothes for my children.
12th Payment
Transfer Amount
3997 KES ($39 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I did not have any stable source of income before I was enrolled into this program and depended only on irregular domestic jobs. I always lived a life full of anxiety not knowing whether I would get anything for my children or enough to pay my rent at the end of the month to avoid being kicked out of my rented house. With the aid of this program, I was able to set up a small business selling samosa which provides me with a stable income that can now take care of my daily needs. I am now living a less stressful life because I am able to meet most of my needs, thanks to my financial stability.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
It is a new year and the kids are about to go back to school, so I have plans of spending the money on their school needs especially after I was forced to spend most of the savings I had set aside for such requirements on a medical emergency.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent the money I received most recently on household and personal requirements such as foodstuff and clothing. I had saved the rest to help in the purchase of school requirements when my children resumed school this term, but unfortunately, I had to spend it on a medical emergency.
8th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($48 USD)
access_time 10 months ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Currently, my life is different from how it was in that, I have been able to take care of my needs easily with the help of these transfer unlike before where I entirely depended on my husband to provide everything. I had given birth and I am still resting for a few months until the baby is old enough. I am glad that I have not taken a loan ever since I started getting these transfers. Thanks to Give Directly because most of my needs have been met through this money.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goal is to start saving for my future projects. I am currently thinking of a business idea that I can do while at home. I recently gave birth and I can't do any casual job yet. I want to start something that will bring good income which will enable me to take care of my needs easily without entirely depending on my husband.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I sent my mother some money for upkeep. My mother doesn't have a stable source of income. She usually depends on casual jobs in order to put food on the table. I have been helping her most of the time because I am among the eldest siblings in our family. In most cases, I am the one who takes care of most of the family's responsibilities. I also managed pay school fees for my child and bought a few clothes since the ones we had were old and torn. I thank Give Directly for enabling me to make these changes and achieve these goals.
4th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($50 USD)
access_time 1 year ago
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goal is to save money part of the monthly transfers and with the saving, I am planning to start a second -hand clothes vending business. This will earn me an income to meet my household's needs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I am earning commissions which are meagre from the odd jobs such as cleaning business premises in Eastleigh market hence meeting my family's needs has always been a challenge most especially when work doesn't present itself. The biggest difference in my life is that I have found peace because I don't strain that much to provide for my family since I am able to supplement my commission with GiveDirectly's transfers and having three meals in a day is possible as compared to before.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent the larger part of my most recent transfer to pay school fees for my two children who are in primary school because they had stayed home for a week due to lack of money to settle the lump sum arrears. The remaining amount I paid my medical bills and bought household expenditure too.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I was wakened up at 12:00 Am by a message alert on my phone and upon looking through. It was GiveDirectly that had sent the money. I had mixed reactions and tears of joys run down my chicks as I thanked the Almighty God for the unexplainable miracle He had done by enabling me to be a GiveDirectly's beneficiary for two years under the monthly project. I am now focused on changing my living standards with these transfers.
access_time over 1 year ago
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My first priority is to open a physical bank account to start saving. My money will be safe and I will be able to plan on how to spend. Secondly, I will furnish my house and buy households items because some have worn out. Lastly, I will pay for the National Hospital Insurance Fund( NHIF). This will help to cater for my medical expenses if I fall sick.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is lack of a stable source of income because I will struggle hard in life. I will be unable to sustain my life and that of my mother by providing food on the table. I may end up borrowing or begging and become a burden to my family and friends. I may be unable to pay rent which may result to being thrown out of our house and be forced to end up in upcountry.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition is to become a successful business woman in future. I would want to invest in selling of clothes and shoes in bulk at a wholesale price. I will be able to provide basic needs for my family like food, clothing, shelter and quality education.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
On my usual day, I normally wake up in the morning at 7:00am. I take bath, wash utensils, prepare breakfast for the family, arrange the house and then I leave for work. I reach at my workplace in Eastleigh in a neighbouring constituency at 9:00am and start to look for work of washing clothes in homes. When I get I work until 11:00am then I return back home. I prepare launch for my family and on Saturday's I wash my wash my own clothes. I also prepare supper for my family and then I retire to bed. In my free time, I like to relax at home, watch movies, listen to music or visit friends.