<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Irine's Profile
Irine's family
Casual labour
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Irine's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent 10000 kshs to buy land, iron-sheets at 4500 kshs, table at 8000 kshs, solar 3600 kshs, wet-cell at 7200 kshs, l had a loan of 10000 kshs so l spent the transfer to pay the remaining a mount l spent to buy food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has change because l am eating well.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 3,000KES on buying 4 hens for keeping, and saved 7,000KES to add to another money and build a chicken house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to pay for a piece land next to my home to extend my compound, because the space is small. I also hope to buy ironsheet, and build an iron roofed house.
access_time 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to build a new home and to buy livestock like goats.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is this far I have come in life. Through savings in merry go round groups I have been able to start a small business through which I sustain my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we face as a family is lack of a sustainable income source.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening especially when I get some cash either from business or sent by my husband.