<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Philip's Profile
Philip's family
Casual labour
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Philip's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to buy two sewing machines (23000) and to complete building the house i began building earlier (27000)
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I was able to acquire two sewing machines which could have taken me a very long time to get but now i will be able to open a shop and begin sewing for a living.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 7,800KES on buying 3 sheep. I also bought nails and 1 ironsheet.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy oxen for ploughing. I also plan to buy cement and cement the floor and walls of my house to improve the condition of the house.
access_time 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to start a business dealing with clothes and also open a tailoring shop
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having bought a sewing machine which I plan to use in my future business.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have is lack of a steady source of income, the loss of my spouse in the year 2013 was also a big blow to my future plans.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is when I wake up in the morning and get a job that pays, this is because I am assured of at least two meals a day.