chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Lilian's Profile
Lilian's family
Lilian
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
35
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Lilian's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I fixed a door & windows. I bought an array of items: a table, cupboard, utensils, cushions, maize, tablecloths and clothes at 23,600 KES. I cemented my house . I paid 3,000 KES Mkopa solar fee. I also spent 2,000 KES on motorcycle repair.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I currently possess a lot of items that I could only dream of owning before, but I couldn't due to financial constraints.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent larger amount of the transfer to buy sand,and the rest of the transfer l use to expand my business.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to pay school fee , l also plan to buy cement.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
Am planning to spend the first transfer to admit my first born boy in school he just did his class eight exams Am also planning to repair my motor bike which has been our source of income but broke down such that it can get back on track and be used to he
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement so far is my family when we are happy together and have our daily meals
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship was when I had to be the provider for the whole family because my husband's source of income came down and we had children in school too
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest moment of the day is the mornings when I milk my cow and able to sell my milk plus evening when I go to the market and able to get something out of my small business which has brought me a source of lighting that I now pay in installments