chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Beatrice's Profile
Beatrice's family
Beatrice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
38
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Beatrice's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend 20000 kshs to pay college fees for my daughter the remaining amount l use for plastering my house so l bought 10 bags of cement at 8000 kshs , l bought sand at 10000 kshs l also bought steel door at 7000, a balance of 8000 kshs l use for labour.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l was planning to call harambee to help me raise college fees for my daughter but l did not , l payed that fees without any problem and am also now staying in a well plastered house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on building a kitchen.I also paid school fees for my children.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on paying college fees for my child.I also want to plaster my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to improve my house by cementing the floor and paying my children's school fee.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is being able to raise and educate my own children and the orphans that I live with even as a widow.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is lack of sufficient resources to meet the needs of my dependants.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when my children and I wake up well.