chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Cavin's Profile
Cavin's family
Cavin
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
25
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($524 USD)
access_time 5 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different from the way it would have been had I not received the transfer from GiveDirectly. I'm currently self-employed. This is because I was able to start up a barbershop business with the second transfer. In addition to that, I was able to lease some pieces of land where I have planted both maize and beans thus expecting an improved harvest compared to the previous seasons. This makes me assured of food security and improved living standards in general because there will be an increased income from the produce of my farming activities and the barber shop.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, GD does well by giving people cash and allowing them to decide on what to do with the money. This has enabled people to improve their lives in different ways. The different opinions and ideas that couldn't be executed because of lack of enough capital are now being done and the benefits are evident with the improved livelihoods in the village.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
We are many in our family but we have a small piece of land for farming which is our main source of income. When I received the second transfers I decided to lease some pieces of land where I'm currently farming both maize and beans. I did this in order to increase our farm produce and profits which would at least settle most of the needs of my big family. Initially, I used to work in someone's barbershop but it wasn't paying well. I, therefore, used part of the transfers to also buy two hair cutting machines. I opened my own barber shop which I'm currently operating. Apart from that, I used part of the money to pay a deposit for a television set that I bought in installments. I used the remaining amount to buy food and clothes. Our lives have improved a lot with all these changes happening
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($546 USD)
access_time 9 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life since I started receiving the money is that I now have an improved daily income from the business I opened up with part of the money and I feel independent too because I no longer operate someone's business.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The moment when I received my money I felt so excited because this was the first time I received such an amount of money in my life. Receiving the money meant the end of poverty to me.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent part of the money I received from GiveDirectly on a few households that I lacked. My mum's house was in a bad condition, so I spent part of the money on constructing her a new house. Previously I was operating someone's haircut shop but it was paying so low, so I opened up a haircut shop with part of the money.
 
Enrolled
access_time 10 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means so much to me. I will use to start a barbershop business within the local market . Currently I work for someone else in his barbershop and the pay is so little that it cannot accommodate all my needs for feeding,clothing and savings.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am sleeping.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is lack of jobs to get better income. I am employed as a casual worker in a local barbershop within the village and the pay I get is so little that it cannot accommodate all my needs for feeding, clothing and savings.