GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Pamela's Profile
Pamela's family
Pamela
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
39
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Pamela's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 16,000KES on buying ironsheet, and 30,000KES on buying 2 cows for keeping. i also spent 3,000KES on buying maize for consumption, and 1,000KES on groceries.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I now have cattle, my children will also sleep well because I already have ironsheet, they have been sleeping at the neighbours home.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 6000 KES on school fees and 3400 KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan on paying school fees for my child and building my son a house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to build for my children a house where they can sleep because at night they move to the neighbours to find a place to sleep and use the rest of my transfer on my children's education. I also want to do dairy farming so that I can earn income from sales of milk.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have a house. I lived in my neighbour's house for quite a long after my husband's demise and it's through casual work that today I boast of a house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life is lack of sufficient funds to educate my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I have worked hard and provided dinner for my family.