GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Irene's Profile
Irene's family
Irene
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
29
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Irene's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 30 iron sheets at 18,600 KES, one still door at 7,000 KES, four still windows at 10,000 KES, 13 kilograms of nails at 1,990 KES, one solar lamp 3,500 KES, paid 5,000 KES school fee for my child, shopping for my child in boarding school at 2,500 KES then used the rest on food for my children.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
We are now at peace as a family because we have the things we lacked.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought 10 iron sheets at 6000 KES, 8 seat cushions at 2400 KES and 1000 KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan on building an iron roofed house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to build a home, buy household items that we lack that is, sofa sets, beddings, and water storage containers. We also plan to buy livestock mainly cattle and sheep.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is that I own a house. Looking back, we rented a house at the market centre because were homeless.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we face now is lack of finances to build a home. According to tradition we are supposed to have moved out by now.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is during morning hours when I do laundry.