GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Evans's Profile
Evans's family
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($512 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Before the transfers, I did not have any stable source of income. I only depended on a small income from casual work which was nto enough to meet all my needs well. I would really struggle and I felt like was very unfair to me. This is why I chose to start a grocery business with part of my first transfer. The littler profit from the business has really helped me grow financially and meet the small needs in time. As a result, we do not have a list of pending needs which has reduced our financial burden.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
GD did well is changing lives through the transfers. Giving us the cash really brought a lot of changes in our lives. Had it not been because of GD transfers then we would still be in poverty with nothing to look to. Personally I would not have paid dowry so I thank GD a lot. I do not feel there is anything wrong with GD.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying three cows. I married three years ago and due to low income, I was not able to raise enough money to buy cows and pay dowry for my wife. Her parents had started asking about the same and it got to a point which it felt like it was more of debt. I could not even talk to my in-laws in peace. I felt guilty and would always do all I could to avoid them. When I received my transfer, we agreed with my wife to first pay the dowry and we can handle the rest of the needs with the remaining amount. I was able to arrange for a day when I went to my in-laws family and sorted the issue. Thanks to GD. The remaining amount I used to cater for funeral expenses for my uncle who passed on at the time when I received the transfer. He was the only one remaining and had been taking care of us and guiding us well. It was good to give him a befitting send-off.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($540 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Receiving the money has really improved my life in that I have a house. This has relieved me of the cost of paying for house rent which was a real challenge being that I didn't have a stable source of income. The money I would use on house rent I can now save some and use some on meeting other household needs.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was around seven in the morning when I was scrolling my phone and all over sudden I received a confirmation message that I had received monney from Givedirectly. It was such a jouyous moment, shared the news with my spouse and we both celebreated.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a bigger portion of the first transfer to purchase building materials which I have already used to construct a house. This is because I was staying in a rental house which was so expensive to maintain in terms of raising house rent because i didn't have a stable source of income. I'm now happy and proud I do not have to struggle raisng house rent every month.
access_time over 5 years ago
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money will enable me build a new house at home. I have been living in our local centre because I was not able to raise enough money to build a house, because the little money I raise from motor cycle taxi is only enough to buy food and meet medical needs. It is this transfer that I am going to use to buy material and pay funds to build a new house. I will also save part of the transfer to open my wife a small business. This transfer has removed the cursed one tag off my head because culturally in our society being married with children yet without house at home is seen as failure.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is usually in the evening, during this time we are able to transport many customers as it is peek. It is from these earnings that I buy my family food and save some for future us, and being able to provide for my family brings a lot of happiness to me.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship have been my living condition. I live in iron roofed house with walls too being iron sheets. This kind of a house is very cold during rainy seasons like now, my child is affected by this cold weather and most of the time I spend a lot of money on her medication on cold related illnesses even last week my wife was taken ill to pneumonia.