chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Elizabeth's Profile
Elizabeth's family
Elizabeth
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
33
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48250 KES ($476 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I bought a bed 5000 KES, super drum 1550 KES, bought two cows for 40000 KES.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a goal of educating my child who will be joining secondary school next year.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I have bought most of the household needs like furniture I have been lacking and find life to be more comfortable than before.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the transfer on buying chairs ksh 11000, 11 iron sheets 6600,timber ksh 13000, labor ksh 3000, nails ksh 2000, radio ksh 1000, 1 sack of maize ksh 2700, children's shoes (4) ksh 1000, 2 sheep ksh 5000 and used the balance on getting birth certificates and meals
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference i have seen in my life is that my house now looks neat with good chairs.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent the transfer to buy iron sheets , bought a bag of maize and basic needs ( food , clothes shoes ).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to add some iron sheets then build a house . l also plan to buy seats for my house , bedding and food for the family.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on purchasing furniture for the house, I plan also to buy iron sheets for my roof and build another house. I am planning also to buy a bicycle, purchase sheep and one cow. I also plan to pay school fees for my children n
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that last year we had a good harvest as we got two bags of harvest from our farm which was one bag of maize and one bag of wheat.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face currently is that we are not financially stable hence its not easy to buy food and when someone falls ill in the family, getting cash for treatment is hard.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I wake up in the morning at around 7am to go and till my land.